Division II Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced - Nicklaus Companies

Division II Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced

NORMAN, Okla. – Five finalists have been named for the 2016 Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Chandler Blanchet (West Florida), John Coultas (Florida Southern), Alistair Docherty and Lee Gearhart (both of of Chico State) and Barrett Waters (West Georgia) are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced June 2 at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.
In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 14-17, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 4 at storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio — the same club where Jack Nicklaus learned the game of golf as a young boy.
Blanchet claimed the Gulf South Conference Championship ans was named Gulf South Conference Player of the Year. He has four additional top-five finishes and only placed outside the top 20 once in 11 events. Blanchet boasts a 71.55 stroke average.
Coultas was named Sunshine State Conference Golfer of the Year. He won two tournaments this season and posted four additional top-five showings. He finished inside the top 14 in all but one of his 10 events. Coultas has posted a 71.33 stroke average for the season.
Docherty, who, along with his teammate Gearhart, won California Collegiate Athletics Association Co-Player of the Year, claimed medalist honors once this season and was runner-up three times. He totaled eight top-five finishes and finished no lower than tied for 17th. Docherty’s stroke average is 71.56.
Gearhart shared player of the year in his conference after posting three victories in 2015-16. He was runner-up twice and placed in the top five on seven occasions. Gearhart only finished outside of the top 20 once in 12 events. He sports a 71.53 stroke average.
A first-team All-Gulf South Selection, Waters finished first in three tournaments. Additionally, he was runner-up twice and claimed seven total top-five showings. Waters finished inside the top 15 in all 11 events he competed. His stroke average is 70.73.
Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA Divisions I and II.
About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For nearly 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Offered in 7 premium varieties (Original, Soothing Aloe, Pacific Rush, Sensitive Skin, Skin Conditioner, Arctic Chill and Extra Moisturizing), Barbasol is available at all major retailers and continues to be made in America. For more information, visit Barbasol.com or follow @BarbasolShave on Twitter at www.twitter.com/Barbasolshave. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc.

More News

Neal Shipley US Open Wear the Bear

June 7, 2024

Masters Low Amateur Neal Shipley Heads to the U.S. Open as a Jack Nicklaus™ Brand Ambassador

Read More

April 10, 2024


Read More
"The Playground" Designed By Tiger Woods and TGR

April 8, 2024

First-ever Jack Nicklaus Heritage course now under construction in Bahamas

Read More