Jack Nicklaus Award adds presenting sponsor - Nicklaus Companies

Jack Nicklaus Award adds presenting sponsor

Todd Lewis of the Golf Channel interviews Jack and Division I Jack Nicklaus Award winner Patrick Rodgers of Stanford at the 2014 Memorial Tournament in Dublin, Ohio.

Barbasol, the well-known American shaving cream brand, has become the presenting sponsor for the Jack Nicklaus Award. The Nicklaus Award recognizes the top players at the Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA levels.
“We are extremely excited to sponsor the Jack Nicklaus Award and to honor the most elite collegiate golfers in the country,” said Tom Murray, President and CEO of Perio Inc., the parent company of Barbasol. “We look forward to seeing the Award winners on Tour and competing in the Barbasol Championship.”
Since 1988, the award winners for the GCAA Collegiate Players of the Year have been named after Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion and GCAA All-American at The Ohio State University. Mr. Nicklaus annually recognizes the recipients during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at world-renowned Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, just outside of Nicklaus’ hometown of Columbus.
Winners of the Nicklaus Award include Tiger Woods (1996), Phil Mickelson (1990–92), David Duval (1993), Justin Leonard (1994), Stewart Cink (1995), Luke Donald (1999), Hunter Mahan (2003), Bill Haas (2004) and Ryan Moore (2005), among many others. Award recipients have combined for over 200 victories worldwide and claimed 22 major championships.
The perpetual Jack Nicklaus Award trophy is displayed in the Jack Nicklaus Museum on the campus of The Ohio State University.
Beginning with the 2015 Nicklaus Award, 20 semifinalists for each division will be named in late April, while five finalists will be selected prior to their respective championships.
Additionally, Barbasol will sponsor the All-Nicklaus Team, which recognizes 24 honorees from across NCAA Divisions I, II, and III, the NAIA and the NJCAA for outstanding play over the course of the collegiate season. The All-Nicklaus Team plaques are displayed prominently in the Memorial Tournament’s Media Center at Muirfield Village Golf Club.
“We are very excited that Barbasol will join the GCAA in honoring the Jack Nicklaus Award recipients,” said GCAA President Conrad Ray. “We’re pleased to not only be partnering with someone that has a passion for golf, but a company that supports so many of the ideals that make the game special, including integrity, the value of hard work and giving back to the community.”

More News

April 10, 2024


Read More
"The Playground" Designed By Tiger Woods and TGR

April 8, 2024

First-ever Jack Nicklaus Heritage course now under construction in Bahamas

Read More

January 22, 2024

Boxto and Nicklaus Companies Form New Multi-Year Licensing Relationship

Read More